August 21, 2017 – August 23, 2017 all-day
Wine Valley GC
176 Wine Valley Road
Walla Walla


Entry forms:
available June 14
Deadline for entries:
August 2
Tee-times & results:
not yet available
Host professional:
John Thorsnes, PGA, Director of Golf

Tournament Format

Championship – 54 hole stroke play championship. No cut!

Schedule of Events

  • Monday, August 21: Northwest Open Invitational – Round 1
  • Tuesday, August 22: Northwest Open Invitational – Round 2
  • Wednesday, August 23: Northwest Open Invitational – Round 3


The term “eligible player” is defined, for this Championship, as: (1) all Pacific Northwest Section, PGA of America members (except those classified as “F” or “Inactive”); (2) all PNW Section, PGA of America Apprentices with full Section Playing Privileges; (3) all Amateurs (as defined by the USGA) with current USGA handicap indexes of 8.0 or less.

Host Hotel

Marriott Courtyard – Walla Walla
550 W Rose Street
Walla Walla, WA 99362
Code: “PGA”
Price: $124 (1 King or 2 queens)
Release date: 7/28/2017. Reservations not made by this date may be subject to a higher room price


The Northwest Open is a significant part of Northwest golf history. The list of past champions reads like a who’s who in Pacific Northwest Golf. 16 members of the Pacific Northwest Section’s Hall of Fame are Northwest Open Champions. The early years were dominated by Seattle Golf Club’s Robert Johnstone (who won 6 of the first 10 events) and “Long Jim” Barnes. Barnes, the professional at Tacoma C&GC from 1911 – 1915, won the first two PGA Championships (1916, 1919) in addition to the 1921 U.S. Open and the 1925 British Open! Spokane’s Marvin “Bud” Ward captured six championships over a 22 year span, five as an amateur and his last as a professional. The 54-hole tournament record of 199 was set by PGA Professional Derek Barron in 2015 at Wine Valley GC and tied in 2016 by PGA Professional Brian Thornton (also at Wine Valley GC).

Past News

Past Champions and Results

“*” indicates won as amateur

YearChampionScoreView Results
2016Brian Thornton199results
2015Derek Barron199results
2014Carl Jonson *207results
2013Shane Prante202results
2012Brandon Kearney204results
2011Corey Prugh206results
2010Brian Thornton204results
2009Mike Schoner208results
2008Rob Clark206results
2007Jeff Coston200results
2006Derek Berg *86results
For complete list of Northwest Open champions and courses played, visit the PNW PGA history project site.