









VAN DER VELDE CAPTURES PACIFIC NORTHWEST SECTION PGA PROFESSIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP

Chris Van der Velde of Tetherow GC, winner of the Pacific Northwest PGA Professional Championship, August 21 at Tetherow GC (Bend, Oregon) will lead 7 Section PGA Professionals to compete in The 42nd PGA Professional National Championship, June 28 - July 1, 2009, at Twin Warriors Golf Club and Santa Ana Golf Club in Santa Ana Pueblo, N.M.

Van der Velde turned in a winning total of 215 to capture the Pacific Northwest PGA Professional Champion title at Tetherow GC in Bend, OR. Defending champion, Brian Thornton of Meridian Valley CC (Kent, WA) was runner-up, finishing four strokes back. They are joined by Chris Mitchell of Portland GC (Portland, OR), Rob Gibbons of Arrowhead GC (Molalla, OR) and Mark Gardner of The Creek of Qualchan (Spokane, WA). Ryan Benzel of Mill Creek CC (Mill Creek, WA) had previously earned an exemption based on his fourth place finish at the 41st PGA Professional National Championship this past June. Brad Martin of Portland GC had placed eighth to also earn an exemption.

Making its second appearance in New Mexico since 2003, the PGA Professional National Championship brings together a field of 312 contestants representing The PGA of America's 41 nationwide Sections.

In 2009, the National Championship field will compete at Santa Ana Golf Club, a 27-hole complex that can play to 7,298 yards on its Tamaya and Cheena sides; and the par-72 Twin Warriors Golf Club, which can be extended to 7,736 yards, and will also be host for the final two rounds of the Championship. The PGA Professional National Championship, carrying a \$550,000 total purse this year, is broadcast (all four rounds) by GOLF CHANNEL. Following 36 holes of play, the field will be trimmed to the low 70 scorers and ties.

The low 20 scorers in 2009 will earn berths into the 91st PGA Championship, Aug. 13-16, 2009, at Hazeltine National Golf Club in Chaska, Minn.

In addition to the Walter Hagen Cup, the PGA Professional National Championship winner also receives an exemption into the next ten PGA Professional National Championships, a spot on the 2009 PGA Cup Team and exemptions into six PGA Tour events over a 12-month period.

Established in 1968, The PGA Professional National Championship roster of Champions includes past and present Tour professionals: Sam Snead, Bob Rosburg, Don Massengale, Ed Dougherty, Larry Gilbert, Bruce Fleisher and Bob Sowards.

The PGA Professional National Championship is presented by Titleist, FootJoy and Cobra; and Club Car. GOLF CHANNEL is an exclusive media partner, and the PGA Tour is the Supporting Sponsor of PGA of America Member Championships. The 41 Section Championships and the National Championship offer a combined purse of \$1.5 million.

Since 1916, The PGA of America's mission has been twofold; to establish and elevate the standards of the profession and to grow interest and participation in the game of golf.

By establishing and elevating the standards of the golf profession through world-class education, career services, marketing and research programs, the Association enables PGA Professionals to maximize their performance in their respective career paths and showcases them as experts in the game and in the \$76 billion golf industry.

By creating and delivering dramatic world-class championships and exciting and enjoyable golf promotions that are viewed as the best of their class in the golf industry, The PGA of America elevates the public's interest in the game, the desire to play more golf, and ensures accessibility to the game for everyone, everywhere. The PGA of America brand represents the very best in golf.

FINAL RESULTS

1	Van der Velde, Chris	Tetherow GC	71	74	70	215	\$5,500.00
2	Thornton, Brian	Meridian Valley CC	75	72	72	219	\$4,225.00
3	Runge, Louie	Willapa Harbor GC	75	78	68	221	\$3,500.00
4	Mitchell, Chris Benzel, Ryan Gibbons, Rob	Portland GC Mill Creek CC Arrowhead GC	76 76 73	72 74 78	75 73 72	223 223 223	\$2,583.33 \$2,583.33 \$2,583.33
7	Gardner, Mark	The Creek at Qualchan	76	77	72	225	\$2,000.00
8	Chuck, Martin O'Neal, Todd	Tetherow GC Orchard Hills CC	76 77	74 80	76 69	226 226	\$1,625.00 \$1,625.00
10	Coleman, Keith Bender, Jeff	Harbour Pointe GC Black Rock Creek GC	74 76	76 76	77 75	227 227	\$1,350.00 \$1,350.00
12	Malby, Ryan	Village Greens GC	72	80	76	228	\$1,200.00
13	Milne, Chuck Bowen, Steve Burtner, Adrian Fosnick, Mike Griffin, Chris	Vanco Driving Range Cedars on Salmon Creek Columbia Edgewater CC Oakbrook G&CC Tacoma C&GC	70 78 78 74 73	78 78 74 78 78	81 73 77 77 78	229 229 229 229 229	\$1,015.00 \$1,015.00 \$1,015.00 \$1,015.00 \$1,015.00
18	Wilcox, Craig Tunstill, Bryan	McKay Creek GC Columbia Edgewater CC	77 80	75 75	78 75	230 230	\$912.50 \$912.50
20	Keating, Mark Krieger, Scott Leritz, Scott Hansen, Brad	Tualatin Island Greens Broadmoor GC Royal Oaks CC Stoneridge GC	78 77 73 73	76 77 81 78	77 77 77 80	231 231 231 231	\$837.50 \$837.50 \$837.50 \$837.50
24	Thompson, Branden Bobillot, David Marsh, Jeff	Chehalem Glenn GC Skagit G&CC Rose City GC	71 73 76	86 85 79		232 232 232	\$762.50 \$762.50 \$762.50
27	McCoy, Casey	Hood River G&CC	73	78	82	233	\$700.00

28	Johnson, Jerry Turchin, Bart	Ocean Shores GC Glen Acres CC	78 77	79 81		234 234	\$662.50 \$662.50
30	Garza, Bob Williams, Scott	Lost Tracks GC Glendale CC	79 77	78 84		235 235	\$612.50 \$612.50
32	Stull, Steve Clark, Rob	Meadow Springs CC Wenatchee G&CC	78 80	77 82		236 236	\$562.50 \$562.50
34	Moore, Danny Haney, Fred Erdmann, Scott Ostrin, Dan	Willamette Valley CC The Reserve Vineyards Oswego Lake CC Widgi Creek GC	79 78 76 81	82 78 81 78	81 80	237 237 237 237	\$500.00 \$500.00 \$500.00 \$500.00