We are accepting late entries for the Oregon Open Invitational at Awbrey Glen GC on June 14-16th.  If you are interested in playing and haven’t gotten your team entry in, you still have time!  ?????Head PGA Professional Tim Fraley and General Manager Mark Amberson are excited to host this year. 

CLICK HERE for the Oregon Open Invitational Team Entry. 

~Tournament Format~

Entry into the championship will be four-man teams comprised of two professionals and two amateurs.  If you are struggling to find a team, we may be able to pair you up.  Please contact us at the Section Office and we will do our best to take care of you.

Teams will play together for the first 36 holes.  Over those 36 holes there will be two team competitions: best 2 net of the 4, and each professional will play a net four-ball with one of his amateurs. 

The championship will still be 54 holes stroke play with professional and amateur purses as in the past.   After 36 holes, the field will be cut to the low 70 PLAYERS and ties.

~History of the Oregon Open~

As one of the oldest events in Section history, the Oregon Open Invitational boasts an impressive list of past champions including the likes of Tommy Armour, Horton Smith, Peter Jacobsen, and Jerry Mowlds.  Along the way, there have been innumerable amazing shots, record setting performances, and dramatic conclusions.  The 2011 Oregon Open Invitational is sure to be no different.

Since the year 2000, the champion has been decided on the final hole or in a playoff numerous times.  If recent history holds, the tournament won’t be decided until the final scorecard is turned in.  Bob Duden has the honor of holding the most Tournament wins (8) for the following years: 1952, 1953, 1959, 1962, 1967, 1969, 1970, and 1973.  Brian Nosler holds the Oregon Open Invitational score record at Brasada Ranch GC with a three day total of 198 that he posted in 2009. 

Last year, amateur Derek Berg of Glendale CC won the Oregon Open Invitational by one stroke.  He won over PGA Professional Casey McCoy of The Dalles CC and by two over 1995 and 2004 champion PGA Professional Jeff Coston of Semiahmoo G&CC and PGA Professinal Kyle Kelly of Tamarisk CC.  

~Awbrey Glen GC~

Once you step on the lush fairways at Awbrey Glen, you’ll realize how golfing was meant to be.  Both challenging and fun, the 18-hole championship course stretches out over 7,000 yards.  You will revel in the surrounding scenery: groves of age-old trees, rolling hills, rugged outcroppings of lava and red-hued basalt, spectacular views of the Cascades, and shimmering lakes. 

Awbrey Glen Golf Club received the Oregon Golf Club of the Year Award from the Oregon Golf Association in 2003.  This annual award recognizes an OGA Member Club for outstanding contributions to the game of golf, the community or the Oregon Golf Association during the prior year.  

CLICK HERE to view past champions of the Oregon Open Invitational.

Leave a Reply